Public Service

The Public Service Award was established in 1985 as a way to positively reinforce safe boating practices, especially in advertising and the media. Nominations can be made by anyone, then must be approved by NASBLA. Awards are presented throughout the year by the boating law administrator from the state in which the recipient lives.

Previous Recipients 

How to Nominate

To nominate an organization or individual for the NASBLA Public Service Award, contact your state boating law administrator (BLA). Nominations are then submitted by the BLA to NASBLA’s Awards Committee.

To nominate a person, a BLA should submit the following information:

  • Name of person nominated for recognition; 
  • Summary of why the nominee should be considered for the award;
  • Address to which award should be shipped (it is the BLA’s responsibility to present the award).

The BLA may also include any supporting documents, such as newspaper clippings, letters, etc., that pertain to the incident. 

To submit nominations use the online nomination form.


2020 Recipients

2020 Recipients

Nevada Department of Wildlife, Nevada

Lake Mead National Recreation Area, Nevada